Le marketing de contenu

Qu’appelle-t-on le marketing de contenu ?

Le marketing de contenu consiste à concevoir et diffuser des contenus en ligne pour capter l’attention d’une audience et accroître l’engagement.

Contrairement au marketing classique, le marketing de contenu ne repose pas sur un argumentaire de vente. Sa vocation n’est pas de promouvoir ni de vendre une marque, un service ou un produit, mais d’intéresser le lecteur en lui proposant des informations utiles et pertinentes qui possèdent une valeur éducative, récréative et/ou lui apportent une satisfaction émotionnelle.

Un marketing de contenu réussi incite naturellement le lecteur à transformer son intérêt en action : cliquer sur un lien, télécharger un livre blanc ou une brochure, demander une démo ou contacter un conseiller.

Qu’appelle-t-on le marketing de contenu ?

Le marketing de contenu consiste à concevoir et diffuser des contenus en ligne pour capter l’attention d’une audience et accroître l’engagement.

Contrairement au marketing classique, le marketing de contenu ne repose pas sur un argumentaire de vente. Sa vocation n’est pas de promouvoir ni de vendre une marque, un service ou un produit, mais d’intéresser le lecteur en lui proposant des informations utiles et pertinentes qui possèdent une valeur éducative, récréative et/ou lui apportent une satisfaction émotionnelle.

Un marketing de contenu réussi incite naturellement le lecteur à transformer son intérêt en action : cliquer sur un lien, télécharger un livre blanc ou une brochure, demander une démo ou contacter un conseiller.

Le marketing de contenu n’est pas un concept nouveau. Il y a plus d’un siècle déjà, les marques et les entreprises publiaient du contenu dans les magazines et les journaux. À cette époque, comme aujourd’hui, l’idée était de stimuler l’engagement des clients, d’en acquérir de nouveaux et de renforcer l’image de marque en fournissant des informations utiles et pertinentes.

Avec l’essor du numérique, les entreprises ont vite réalisé le potentiel et l’attractivité du marketing de contenu. Dans un premier temps, elles y ont surtout vu une manière d’aborder l’inbound marketing sous un angle innovant et un moyen efficace de générer du trafic.

De nos jours, avec la sophistication croissante des outils d’analyse et d’automation, les experts du performance marketing exploitent toutes les possibilités offertes par les contenus pour attirer des leads qualifiés, renforcer leur engagement dans les tunnels de conversion et les convertir en clients.

Ces dernières années, le marketing de contenu a connu un essor phénoménal, et 89 % des annonceurs B2B disent aujourd’hui l'utiliser. Cela s’explique tout simplement par l’expansion d’internet : la transition vers les médias en ligne et, plus récemment, l’utilisation croissante du mobile, ont révolutionné la manière de consommer des contenus. Les petites comme les grandes entreprises doivent aujourd’hui élaborer des stratégies de contenu ambitieuses et leur allouer des budgets en conséquence.

Le succès du marketing de contenu s’explique aussi par un attrait limité des audiences pour la publicité. Selon un rapport publié par Nielsen’s Global Trust, les internautes, et particulièrement les utilisateurs sur mobiles, font moins confiance aux annonces qu’à toute autre forme de contenu. Sur les canaux traditionnels (télévision, radio, affiches publicitaires, journaux et magazines), l’indice de confiance envers les contenus éditoriaux est là aussi supérieur à celui des annonces.
Le constat est sans appel : les contenus éditoriaux informatifs ou distrayants sont ce qui marche le mieux.

In recent years, content marketing has exploded, 89% of B2B marketers currently using content marketing. The reason? The internet. The shift to online media, and more recently, to mobile

Read More

What Is
Content Marketing?

In recent years, content marketing has exploded, 89% of B2B marketers currently using content marketing. The reason? The internet. The shift to online media, and more recently, to mobile, means that audiences are consuming content in new and savvy ways. This has led to brands big and small developing comprehensive content strategies with allocated marketing budgets.

Another reason? People are just not that into ads. According to Nielsen’s Global Trust In Advertising report, people trust text ads less than any other content medium, especially on mobile. What’s more, on the list of trusted mediums, editorial content outranked ads on all traditional channels, including TV, radio, billboards, newspapers and magazines.

Bottom line: editorial, informational, entertaining content works best.

Le marketing de contenu, une longue histoire

Le marketing de contenu n’est pas un concept nouveau. Il y a plus d’un siècle déjà, les marques et les entreprises publiaient du contenu dans les magazines et les journaux. À cette époque, comme aujourd’hui, l’idée était de stimuler l’engagement des clients, d’en acquérir de nouveaux et de renforcer l’image de marque en fournissant des informations utiles et pertinentes.

Avec l’essor du numérique, les entreprises ont vite réalisé le potentiel et l’attractivité du marketing de contenu. Dans un premier temps, elles y ont surtout vu une manière d’aborder l’inbound marketing sous un angle innovant et un moyen efficace de générer du trafic.

De nos jours, avec la sophistication croissante des outils d’analyse et d’automation, les experts du performance marketing exploitent toutes les possibilités offertes par les contenus pour attirer des leads qualifiés, renforcer leur engagement dans les tunnels de conversion et les convertir en clients.

Content marketing is not a new concept. Brands and businesses were already publishing content in the earliest magazines and newspapers over a hundred years ago. Then, like now, the aim was to strengthen

Read More

Content Comes in All Shapes and Sizes

Different strokes for different folks! Here are some common types of content marketing.
Choose the ones that work for your target audience.

Content Comes in All Shapes and Sizes

Different strokes for different folks! Here are some common types of content marketing.
Choose the ones that work for your target audience.

Canaux de diffusion

Créer des contenus n’est qu’une partie de l’équation, encore faut-il qu’ils atteignent la bonne audience. La façon dont vous diffusez vos contenus est une composante critique de votre stratégie marketing.

Les modèles les plus souvent utilisés sont au nombre de quatre :

Earned

On parle de Earned Content lorsque vous bénéficiez de mentions sur des sites éditeurs comme de la presse, des blogs. Dans un paysage médiatique bombardé d’informations en continu, ce type de couverture vous procure une grande visibilité.

Shared

Les contenus partagés sont interactifs : il s’agit de contenus portés et co-créés par la communauté sur les réseaux sociaux. L’enjeu consiste à obtenir le plus de vues, de commentaires et de partages.

Owned

Les owned media sont les contenus diffusés sur des espaces qui vous appartiennent : votre site internet, votre blog, votre newsletter et même vos comptes sur les réseaux sociaux.

Paid content (acheté)

On parle de paid content lorsque vous payez pour diffuser vos contenus et en faire la promotion. Cela recouvre le référencement payant, la publicité sur les réseaux sociaux, les annonces display, les contenus sponsorisés et des plateformes de découverte de contenu comme Outbrain (c’est nous !).

Le point à retenir...

Dans le domaine du marketing de contenu, quasiment tous les types de contenus se retrouvent dans l’une ou l’autre catégorie, mais les choses sont parfois plus compliquées : les contenus Earned, Owned et Shared peuvent également être des contenus payants. Quelle que soit le modèle, vous n’obtiendrez pas les résultats escomptés si vos contenus ne sont pas à la hauteur.

En savoir plus

Content Distribution Channels

Créer des contenus n’est qu’une partie de l’équation, encore faut-il qu’ils atteignent la bonne audience. La façon dont vous diffusez vos contenus est une composante critique de votre stratégie marketing.

Les modèles les plus souvent utilisés sont au nombre de quatre :

Earned

On parle de Earned Content lorsque vous bénéficiez de mentions sur des sites éditeurs comme de la presse, des blogs. Dans un paysage médiatique bombardé d’informations en continu, ce type de couverture vous procure une grande visibilité.

Owned

Les owned media sont les contenus diffusés sur des espaces qui vous appartiennent : votre site internet, votre blog, votre newsletter et même vos comptes sur les réseaux sociaux.

Shared

Les contenus partagés sont interactifs : il s’agit de contenus portés et co-créés par la communauté sur les réseaux sociaux. L’enjeu consiste à obtenir le plus de vues, de commentaires et de partages.

Paid content (acheté)

On parle de paid content lorsque vous payez pour diffuser vos contenus et en faire la promotion. Cela recouvre le référencement payant, la publicité sur les réseaux sociaux, les annonces display, les contenus sponsorisés et des plateformes de découverte de contenu comme Outbrain (c’est nous !).

Le point à retenir...

Dans le domaine du marketing de contenu, quasiment tous les types de contenus se retrouvent dans l’une ou l’autre catégorie, mais les choses sont parfois plus compliquées : les contenus Earned, Owned et Shared peuvent également être des contenus payants. Quelle que soit le modèle, vous n’obtiendrez pas les résultats escomptés si vos contenus ne sont pas à la hauteur.

En savoir plus

Qu’est-ce qui rend un contenu performant ?

Tous les contenus sont uniques et le style, le message et la finalité est ce qui les distingue. Mais pour qu’il soit un facteur de l’engagement et se traduise par des conversions, votre contenu devra posséder une ou plusieurs des caractéristiques suivantes.

Informatif/Éducatif

Votre contenu apprend-il quelque chose de nouveau au lecteur ? Est-ce qu’il offre un point de vue intéressant, original ou judicieux ? Ces informations sont-elles utiles ?

Divertissant

Votre contenu est-il amusant, d’actualité et agréable à lire ? Est-ce qu’il stimule l’imagination du lecteur et lui donne envie d’en voir plus ?

Émotionnellement satisfaisant

Votre contenu fait-il rire, pleurer ou réfléchir vos lecteurs ? Est-ce qu’il crée l’émotion ? Vos lecteurs se sentent-ils personnellement concernés par votre contenu ?

Socialement intéressant

Vos lecteurs auront-ils envie de partager votre contenu ? Auront-ils envie de cliquer dessus et de le diffuser ? Pourrait-il faire le buzz ?

En savoir plus

Qu’est-ce qui rend un contenu performant ?

Tous les contenus sont uniques et le style, le message et la finalité est ce qui les distingue. Mais pour qu’il soit un facteur de l’engagement et se traduise par des conversions, votre contenu devra posséder une ou plusieurs des caractéristiques suivantes.

Informational
/Educational

Votre contenu apprend-il quelque chose de nouveau au lecteur ? Est-ce qu’il offre un point de vue intéressant, original ou judicieux ? Ces informations sont-elles utiles ?

Divertissant

Votre contenu est-il amusant, d’actualité et agréable à lire ? Est-ce qu’il stimule l’imagination du lecteur et lui donne envie d’en voir plus ?

Émotionnellement satisfaisant

Votre contenu fait-il rire, pleurer ou réfléchir vos lecteurs ? Est-ce qu’il crée l’émotion ? Vos lecteurs se sentent-ils personnellement concernés par votre contenu ?

Socialement intéressant

Vos lecteurs auront-ils envie de partager votre contenu ? Auront-ils envie de cliquer dessus et de le diffuser ? Pourrait-il faire le buzz ?

Content Marketing

What Is
Content Marketing?

Content marketing is the creation and distribution of online content designed to attract and engage an audience.

Unlike traditional marketing, content marketing has no sales pitch. It does not try to directly advertise or sell a particular brand, product or service. Rather, it aims to capture mindshare with valuable, relevant information that is educational, entertaining and/or emotionally satisfying. In this way, content marketing succeeds in creating interest and awareness of the brand and its offerings.

The best kind of content marketing gently leads the audience to convert their interest into some form of online action - whether clicking on a website link, downloading a whitepaper or brochure, requesting a demo, or contacting a sales rep.

What Is
Content Marketing?

Content marketing is the creation and distribution of online content designed to attract and engage an audience.

Unlike traditional marketing, content marketing has no sales pitch. It does not try to directly advertise or sell a particular brand, product or service. Rather, it aims to capture mindshare with valuable, relevant information that is educational, entertaining and/or emotionally satisfying. In this way, content marketing succeeds in creating interest and awareness of the brand and its offerings.

The best kind of content marketing gently leads the audience to convert their interest into some form of online action - whether clicking on a website link, downloading a whitepaper or brochure, requesting a demo, or contacting a sales rep.

Content marketing is not a new concept. Brands and businesses were already publishing content in the earliest magazines and newspapers over a hundred years ago. Then, like now, the aim was to strengthen customer engagement, customer acquisition and brand awareness by providing useful, engaging information.

With the rise of digital, marketers increasingly saw the potential and appeal of content marketing. At first, it was a new and exciting approach to inbound marketing, and an effective way to drive online traffic.

Now, with increasingly sophisticated marketing automation and analytics tools, performance marketers are using content marketing as an advanced method for attracting qualified leads, nurturing their engagement down the funnel, and converting them to customers.

In recent years, content marketing has exploded, with 89% of B2B marketers currently using content marketing. The reason? The internet. The shift to online media, and more recently, to mobile, means that audiences are consuming content in new and savvy ways. This has led to brands big and small developing comprehensive content strategies with allocated marketing budgets.

Another reason? People are just not that into ads. According to Nielsen’s Global Trust In Advertising report, people trust text ads less than any other content medium, especially on mobile. What’s more, on the list of trusted mediums, editorial content outranked ads on all traditional channels, including TV, radio, billboards, newspapers and magazines.
Bottom line: editorial, informational, entertaining content works best.

In recent years, content marketing has exploded, 89% of B2B marketers currently using content marketing. The reason? The internet. The shift to online media, and more recently, to mobile

Read More

What Is
Content Marketing

In recent years, content marketing has exploded, 89% of B2B marketers currently using content marketing. The reason? The internet. The shift to online media, and more recently, to mobile, means that audiences are consuming content in new and savvy ways. This has led to brands big and small developing comprehensive content strategies with allocated marketing budgets.

Another reason? People are just not that into ads. According to Nielsen’s Global Trust In Advertising report, people trust text ads less than any other content medium, especially on mobile. What’s more, on the list of trusted mediums, editorial content outranked ads on all traditional channels, including TV, radio, billboards, newspapers and magazines.

Bottom line: editorial, informational, entertaining content works best.

History Of
Content Marketing

Content marketing is not a new concept. Brands and businesses were already publishing content in the earliest magazines and newspapers over a hundred years ago. Then, like now, the aim was to strengthen customer engagement, customer acquisition and brand awareness by providing useful, engaging information.

With the rise of digital, marketers increasingly saw the potential and appeal of content marketing. At first, it was a new and exciting approach to inbound marketing, and an effective way to drive online traffic.

Now, with increasingly sophisticated marketing automation and analytics tools, performance marketers are using content marketing as an advanced method for attracting qualified leads, nurturing their engagement down the funnel, and converting them to customers.

Content marketing is not a new concept. Brands and businesses were already publishing content in the earliest magazines and newspapers over a hundred years ago. Then, like now, the aim was to strengthen

Read More

Content Comes in All Shapes and Sizes

Different strokes for different folks! Here are some common types of content marketing.
Choose the ones that work for your target audience.

Content Comes in All Shapes and Sizes

Different strokes for different folks! Here are some common types of content marketing.
Choose the ones that work for your target audience.

Content Distrubution Channels

Creating content is just half the story. In order to be effective, content must be consumed by the target audience. How to distribute content is a critical part of a content marketing strategy.

Generally speaking, there are 4 models for content marketing distribution:

Earned

Creating content is just half the story. In order to be effective, content must be consumed by the target audience. How to distribute content is a critical part of a content marketing strategy.

Shared

Shared content is a two way street - it’s community-driven, social media-driven and co-created content. The trick is figuring out how to get more views, comments and shares.

Owned

All the content under your direct control is owned media. This includes your website, blog, newsletter, even your social media pages.

Paid content

Paid content is just that - it’s distribution and exposure that you’ve paid for. This can include paid search, social media campaigns, display ads, sponsored content, and content discovery platforms like Outbrain (that’s us).

Remember…

Pretty much every type of content marketing falls under one of these umbrellas. But it’s not quite that simple. Earned, owned, and shared content can be paid content as well. Whether earned, owned, shared or paid, all content must be effective to get results.

Learn More

Content Distribution Channels

Creating content is just half the story. In order to be effective, content must be consumed by the target audience. How to distribute content is a critical part of a content marketing strategy.

Generally speaking, there are 4 models for content marketing distribution:

Earned

Earned content is press coverage or media mentions by other publishers or sites. In the nonstop new cycle and noisy media landscape, it gives you great visibility.

Owned

All the content under your direct control is owned media. This includes your website, blog, newsletter, even your social media pages.

Shared

Shared content is a two way street - it’s community-driven, social media-driven and co-created content. The trick is figuring out how to get more views, comments and shares.

Paid content

Paid content is just that - it’s distribution and exposure that you’ve paid for. This can include paid search, social media campaigns, display ads, sponsored content, and content discovery platforms like Outbrain (that’s us).

Remember…

Pretty much every type of content marketing falls under one of these umbrellas. But it’s not quite that simple. Earned, owned, and shared content can be paid content as well. Whether earned, owned, shared or paid, all content must be effective to get results.

Learn More

What Makes a Piece of Content Effective?

Every piece of content is different, with its own purpose, style and message. If your content hits one or more of the characteristics below, it will help drive the audience to further engage online with your brand. And that’s what leads to conversions.

Informational/Educational

Does the content tell something new? Does it offer an interesting, original or helpful perspective? Does it provide useful information?

Entertaining

Is the content fun, up to date, and readable? Does it capture the imagination and leave the reader wanting more?

Emotionally satisfying

Does the content make the reader laugh, cry, think or feel? Can the reader connect with it on a deeper personal level?

Socially valuable

Is the content something your readers would love to share? Is it clickable and relatable? Could it even go viral?

Learn More

What Makes a Piece of Content Effective?

Every piece of content is different, with its own purpose, style and message. If your content hits one or more of the characteristics below, it will help drive the audience to further engage online with your brand. And that’s what leads to conversions.

Informational
/Educational

Does the content tell something new? Does it offer an interesting, original or helpful perspective? Does it provide useful information?

Entertaining

Is the content fun, up to date, and readable? Does it capture the imagination and leave the reader wanting more?

Emotionally
satisfying

Does the content make the reader laugh, cry, think or feel? Can the reader connect with it on a deeper personal level?

Socially
valuable

Is the content something your readers would love to share? Is it clickable and relatable? Could it even go viral?

Article Resources

Article Resources

For in-depth information on each of the areas above, please visit the following articles: